Injured on Property in California? Find Out if You Are Eligible for a Personal Injury Claim

If you are injured on someone else’s property in California, you may be eligible to obtain compensation by filing a personal injury claim. Should you need help with a claim or if you are unsure about filing one, you may contact an experienced personal injury lawyer at our law firm to get further assistance. Our California personal injury attorneys at Maire & Deedon will tell you what you need to know to determine if you can file a personal injury claim.

Some Key Things To Keep in Mind if You Have Been Injured

  1. You Must Have Been Injured While on the Property of Another Person

A person must have been injured while on the property of another person in order to bring a personal injury claim under California law. This means that the person was not only injured while physically on the property but also that their injury was caused by something on or within the property.

  • An Intentional Act or Omission Must Have caused the Injury on the Part of the Other Party

In order for one party to be held liable for personal injury on their property, the injury must have been caused by an intentional or negligent act or omission on their part. This means that they were aware of the potential danger and chose not to take precautions.

You may also need to show that the defendant’s actions in maintaining their property were either unreasonable or careless and resulted in harm. If you can show all of these things, you will likely be able to receive compensation for your injuries.

  • The Injury Must Have Caused You Some Type of Physical or Emotional Pain or Suffering

Many different things can cause injuries on a property, but one of the most common is when someone slips and falls on icy or wet surfaces. This type of injury can lead to broken bones, bruises, and more serious injuries such as spinal cord damage. If, however, your accident involves water dripping, and maybe you were not at all injured, you might be unable to file a personal injury claim. However, even if your ordeal’s injuries were not physical and involved some form of emotional damage, you may be able to file a personal injury claim.

Why You Need To Speak to an Attorney After Getting Injured on a Property in California

California is a state that upholds the pure comparative negligence law. This law holds a party responsible for the percentage up to which their intent or negligence contributed to an accident. For example, in the context of a slip and fall in a shopping mall, if it is determined that the mall management is only 60 percent at fault, the amount of compensation that a victim would receive would be 60 percent of what their total damages were.

Given that most property owners have a legal team, it is imperative that you get an attorney on your side as soon as possible. Speaking with a Redding, CA, personal injury attorney at Maire & Deedon can help you will ensure you get the best possible outcome for your case.